Variation of a pattern and the challenges I’ve caused for myself

I told you earlier I had knitter’s ADD (KADD)!

summer_2009_smallA few weeks ago, I was in Borders just browsing and couldn’t help but look at what was on the knitting mag rack. Knitter’s magazine #95, Summer 09 was shouting out ‘Buy Me! Buy Me!’

My ears are attuned to all things yarny and knitterly. ;D I sat at the back with a coffee shake and browsed from cover to cover but kept coming back to the pink caplet on the front cover. Purchased the mag. Done.

I just HAD to try it. The pattern was wonderful, but PINK? not. I decided to raid my stash and discover if I could use something up. After all, I”ve got to go into the next karmic level to use it all. I found some great variagated wool that I believe Mom gave me, and also some great teal yarn. . . . which turned out to be orlon. Selection made. Done.

The colors worked so well together I couldn’t not use them together to make the guage worDSCF7849k. The pattern called for Super Bulky. My challenge had begun. Blending NOT pink yarns of different fibers. Done.

Now, having KADD, there were no longer any circulars available and I didn’t want to drive out just for that. I found my US 13 straights and made a mental note to get something off the needles (yeah right) or purchase what I needed later for the shoulders portion of the pattern. Done.

Not one to follow exactly all of the pattern all of the time, I decided to add another cable. I thought I could use the coverage! I’m not that big, but the length needed to be just a titsch longer. . . Done.

I figured out the charting and got about 12 inches knit. Wow, love how fast a larger needle makes the progress appear! I’ve picked up and set down several times in between other projects. It’s a fun one. I’m not ready to figure out the shoulders. Have to graft the base first whenever I complete it: 44″ circumference may take awhile. But have theorized a potential color/yarn change for the shoulders as well as a split collar I can use a shawl pin on too. Still processing those ideas, so NOT done. . . . yet.

On to ravelry.com to post my project on my personal project pages. What? The pattern was so new, no one had written up a page for reference. I decided to do as requested and quoted the magazine’s descriptions and specifications, but left the photo blank. Afterall, the picture was from the magazine, and mine was not pink! But, Pattern reference: Done.

DSCF7847Just the other day (July 20) I got a message in my ravelry mail that they wanted to use one of my progress pics for the photo on the main pattern page! WHOOT. That’s so cool. I”m hitting landmarks this year. ;D

http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/hott-pink-shrug

Can you say – crazy? I say designer. But making beauty out of knots has always been fun for me. I’ll keep you posted. My challenges keep me hopping but life could be very vanilla otherwise. ♥ Maybe by sometime in September or October I can repost and officially say: DONE!

Keep on knitting dudes/dudettes.

~antsinthepantsAnne™

Leave a Reply

